This Secret Life of the Unborn Child is put together from glimpses of awareness gained by clients in Rebirth/Breathwork Sessions; where the aim is to gradually heal the Birth Trauma locked deep inside our mind/body/soul.

'The Secret Life of Unborn Child'

'The Secret Life of Unborn Child'

WEEK 28:
I have survived the 1st and 2nd trimester. Despite being unwanted at first, my mum has decided to continue the pregnancy. I still feel unwanted but glad to be alive. I have plenty of room to move in here and all my needs are supplied to me.

WEEK 31:
My mum continues to smoke cigarettes – I am feeling weird from her recent party-nite of heavy smoking, loud music and a few drinks. Doesn’t she know I share the same blood supply as her and all that stuff comes into me also!

WEEK 32:
I have been practicing my breathing exercises – although it’s all fluid it helps my diaphragm muscles stay healthy. I’ve been able to see shades of light and hear outside noises (although muffled) for some time now.

WEEK 38:
It’s getting really cramped in here. My head is in position for birth. I sense my mum getting really angry cause she is uncomfortable and impatient for me to come out.

WEEK 40:
I want to get out of here – I feel stuck.
Even though I was unwanted at first I sense an eager, loving mum awaits me.

WEEK 41:
Doctors have just injected a substance into our bloodstream, and mum is now having contractions – they are inducing my birth – how dare they!!

I was getting ready to come out – Just waiting for the right time – Now I am being squeezed – Mum is scared and tense.
I feel really threatened – am I going to die??

HOURS LATER:
Mum is exhausted . . . . . I am totally limp and drugged from the painkillers they gave mum . . . here I come . . . YEEEOOUCH . . . the bright lights . . . the cold . . .  noise all around me .  . . I cannot cope . . . . . I just want to go back to the warm, quiet, safety of the womb.  . . . EEOOOWWW!!  . . . . SCREAM . . . . I am terrified . .  . . . they are hurting me . . . . Mum is hurting . . . . HELP ME . . . . get me outta here . . . . they’ve cut off my air supply (the umbilical cord) = I am going to die . . . OOOWW . . . . they’ve stuck sucker tubes inside my nose and mouth and removed all natural lubrication in my airways . . . . . . . IT HURTS . . . . . . . EXTREME PAIN . . . . have to breathe or die . . . SCREAM as breath goes into my lungs for the very first time . . .  . I go unconscious (briefly) from the pain . . . . I can’t cope .  . . . why are they doing this to me?? . . . . . why are they so cruel? . . . . How can they love me when they hurt me so much?

A BIT LATER:
Mum is unconscious from pain . . . . I have no father involved in my birth . . . . . they are picking me up and putting me in scratchy cloth .  . . I am SCREAMING in terror  . ….. . . I just want to hear some comforting words from my mum . . . . I want to know is she OK . . . they are not listening to me . . . . . . does anyone care . . . . . . . . I need loving and tenderness . . . . I need to feel welcomed . . . . and for someone to consider my trauma . . . . my feelings . . . . .

